August 2014

August has been a bit of a hectic month. The Italy art show opened around the same time the semester started. I made a photography series to submit to the show. It consists of five photos taken near the town we stayed in. This semester I am studying life drawing, watercolor, (western) art history from 1855 to present, and women in both literature and visual art.

Italy Show Gallery

The gallery in Baird Hall featuring work inspired by the Italy trip.

Life Drawing 2

A charcoal life drawing I drew during the third week of class.

Life Drawing 1

A charcoal and pastel palimpsest, also from the third week of class. Back in the day when scribes wrote on scrolls they would scrape the document clean to re-use it. It didn’t always get everything cleaned off so bits of the under layers could be seen. I saw the example in my text book and decided to try it out.

Watercolor 3

Watercolor 3

Italy Photos 2

Two of my photos in the Italy show.

Italy Photos

Two more of my photos in the Italy show.

 

Instagram Screenshot

A screenshot of my Instagram account. Follow me!

Leave a Reply

