Study Abroad

Michelangelo's David

In a little less than two months I’ll be in Italy!

Michelangelo's David

Now, as excited as I am, I want to be very clear that I will not be vacationing. I am traveling with the art program to study. I will be enrolled in two classes and producing more art than I’ve ever produced before. I will write a paper at the end of the trip and I will show (art) both in Italy and back home. We will travel to Rome, Florence, and Venice, and several other important places in art history to see important historical works.

But, I will be in Italy, with peers interested in the same thing I am. I expect to cherish this trip for the rest of my life. I intend on having lots of fun. Someone told me “It is what you make of it.” I’m going to make the most of it.

I have had some people contribute towards the expense of this trip and I am hugely grateful for that. I am fortunate that I have a scholarship to cover my tuition (the ACT does pay!). Next week I will submit a few pieces for a student show, hopefully I’ll receive some scholarship from that AND get to show some work. Too bad my clay pieces won’t be ready in time.

By the way, that sculpture is Michelangelo’s David. I don’t think that most realize that it is the David, the one that fought Goliath.

Leave a Reply

